COOL QUOTE // Dragonfly in Amber

Dragonfly in Amber“Strong as he was, he couldn’t protect me; willing he might be, but he couldn’t help. For the first time, I wasn’t safe in his arms, and the knowledge terrified both of us.

– Claire Randall

Stillllll chugging my way through Dragonfly in Amber.  I’m into it but it’s not that all-consuming kind of read I’ve experienced before…where I’ll spend every spare moment devouring every word and every non-spare moment in anticipation of picking it up again.  Where I’ll abandon sleep or food or human interaction, and find ingenious ways to sneak it into my work day.  Ever hidden a book INSIDE a magazine?  Just me?  Yeah, my job is pretty weird (/awesome?) where holding a magazine comes off as more industrious than holding a book…but that’s another story for another day.

Anyways this story is *good* to me but fortunately still allows me to want to live my life.  I apologize if I’m offending any Outlander die-hards with my apathy.  I like it, I promise!?  I’m definitely gonna see it through (as you may or may not know, I have a hard time not finishing books) but then afterward, I might take a break from this series before deciding to commit to the *gasp* five others.

I thought the above quote was really lovely and powerful though.  Great insight into the darling codependency of Jamie and Claire’s relationship as well as some saucy foreshadowing.

And you do know that feeling I was referring to, right?  About that book you can’t put down and can’t stop thinking about even when you’re not reading?  What book has done that for you?  Tell me in the comments because I love that feeling and need it back.

One thought on “COOL QUOTE // Dragonfly in Amber

  1. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW // The Selection | vacation MODE

Leave a Reply

