FRIDAY FINDS // The Last Bookstore

FRIDAY FINDS showcases the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list… whether you found them online, or in a bookstore, or in the library — wherever! (they aren’t necessarily books you purchased). Hosted by A Daily Rhythm.

The Last Bookstore

It’s official.  I’m a book hoarder.  It’s causing problems in my interpersonal relationships and ruining my home’s feng shui.  But I’m also not ashamed to admit it, which is the first step towards recovery, right?  Right guys?  RIGHT?

Avoiding eye contact with the mile-high TBR stack on my bedside table, I couldn’t resist a recent weekend trip to one of my most favorite, happiest places, The Last Bookstore.  The Last Bookstore is California’s largest independent bookstore, located in the heart of downtown LA (lucky/hazardous for me, mere minutes from my house in Silverlake).  It’s an absolute must-see for any bibliophile visiting Los Angeles, with an awe-inspiring selection of almost every title under the sun – new and used.  Make sure you venture upstairs to explore their impressive Labyrinth and the unparalleled $1 section – they offer upwards of 100,000 titles for a buck a pop.

I head over there on rare rainy days or whenever I need a little pick-me-up, and can spend hours getting lost in its heavenly abyss.  It’s so soothing.  Plus the surrounding neighborhood is awesomely foot-friendly – grab lunch or a coffee, explore the weekend farmers’ market, and make a little afternoon of it.

I just popped in to “browse” but ended up majorly scoring with some great used books.  5 titles (that I actually want to read) for under $30 total.  Comeup.

Have you read any of these titles?  Which should I get into first?

vacation MODE Friday Finds

Choke by Chuck Palahniuk
Don’t know if this was intentionally meant to be funny but I actually lol’d reading the summary.

The Hours by Michael Cunningham
It won the Pulitzer in 1999, mmk?  Probably doesn’t suck.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner
Fangirl heaven, methinks.

The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory
Not to be confused with the YA book by Victoria Aveyard that’s sweeping the world right now (which is also on my wishlist), but I looooved the one other Philippa Gregory book I’ve read (The Other Boleyn Girl – see my review here), so still very exciting.

Atonement by Ian McEwan
The film broke my heart so I’m probably screwed trying to get through this.

Photos are from my Instagram.  Find me on Instagram for more inspo on the daily.

11 thoughts on “FRIDAY FINDS // The Last Bookstore

  1. I am a book hoarder, too!!! It’s bad. My house is overflowing. I can’t possibly read them all and I keep buying more anyway. In fact, my mom got me a nightshirt that say, ‘Oops! I bought another stack of books.’ It happens at least once a week.

    I’ve read all but one of the ones in your stack. I’d start with Choke.
    Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love your blog and I would love to visit The Last Bookstore. I have books which currently span over two houses… Quite worrying really! By he way Atonement is a fabulous read. Thanks for having such a brilliant blog! X

    Like

    • Thanks for the amazing compliment! Means a lot. With your collection maybe you don’t need to visit another bookstore quite yet 😉 (I can relate). And thanks for the tip, can’t wait to get into Atonement. xx

      Like

  3. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW // Choke | vacation MODE

Leave a comment